How to get your permit in Texas
Like other states, the journey to a driver’s license in Texas starts at the learner’s permit. Officially Known as a learner license in the Lone Star State, the permit allows Texas teens to practice their driving skills in preparation for an unrestricted Texas driver’s license.
Texans can apply for their learner license as young as 15 years old – but first, they must enroll in a state-approved driver’s education course. To apply, Texas teens must complete at least the first 6 hours of a 32-hour TDLR-approved Texas driver’s education course. Once that requirement is fulfilled, they can now head to their local Texas Driver License Office and apply for a learner license.
Once you have received your Texas learner license, you must complete a 7-hour in-car driving course and 7 hours of in-car driving observation. You can do this with our top-of-the-line in-car instruction team for your convenience.
After six months of holding a learner license and 30 hours of behind-the-wheel training, you’ll finally be able to graduate up to a provisional license upon passing the in-car driving drivers under the age of 21 in the state of Texas, must first go through the Graduated Driver License Program. More commonly known as the GDL Program, this initiative ensures that those who are learning to drive go through different phases of driving privileges before earning the right to a full, unrestricted license.
Age of 15, teen drivers in Texas can apply for a learner’s license. Once the first six hours of the driver’s education class have been completed, they are eligible to take the written examination for your permit. Upon earning a learner’s license, teen drivers are beholden to the restrictions of the Texas Graduated Driver License (GDL) Program. Holders of a learner’s license are required to drive with a licensed driver age 21 or older always.
To earn an intermediate license, the next step in the Texas GDL Program, Texas teens with learner’s licenses must fulfill some requirements. To take the behind-the-wheel exam, teen learners must complete a minimum of 30 practice driving hours, at least 10 of which must be done at night. Once this has been completed and a learner’s permit has been held for six months without incident, teenagers can take the road test to apply for their intermediate license. Additionally, before taking the behind-the-wheel exam, teens must complete the Texas DPS’ free Impact Texas Teen Drivers course (ITTD). Once the ITTD course is complete, they will receive an email with a certificate, which they must bring to the DPS within 90 days. If it is not delivered, the teen will have to retake the ITTD course.
If the driver is able to keep their intermediate license for a year without road violations, their license will transition to a provisional license – and once the teen is 18 years old, their license will automatically be upgraded to a full unrestricted Texas driver’s license.
- Your driver’s education course may be online or in a classroom, taught by an instructor or by your parent, but Texas state law determines the required amount of hours each class must take.
Regardless of which driver’s ed option you choose, in the state of Texas the requirements are still the same:
An approved written “in-classroom” course with at least 32 hours of instruction
- An approved “in-car” training course that consists of at least 7 hours of behind-the-wheel training and 7 hours of in-car observation
- At least 30 hours of additional behind-the-wheel training (including 10 hours at night) supervised by a licensed parent or guardian
- Teens must hold a learner license before start the in-car phase of their driver’s education. They can apply for one as soon as they complete 6 hours of their “in-classroom” course.
- Texas teenager is required to take a grand total of 32 hours of driver’s ed and 44 hours of behind-the-wheel training before being eligible for their Texas provisional license.
Required by the DPS for teens 14 to 17 years old, Texas teen drivers education prepares you for the knowledge test and in-car lessons.
Is ITTD Required?
If you’re under 18 and applying for your license, you will need to complete the course. The state began requiring new drivers to take it in September of 2015 and it must be completed in addition to a state-approved driver education course. You must finish the ITTD course no more than 90 days before you take your behind-the-wheel exam at the license office. If you wait too long to take your exam or if you complete the course too early, you’ll have to watch the videos again. In fact, it’s best to take the course within a few weeks of your exam appointment so that you have some leeway in the event that you need to take the exam more than once.
If you are between the ages of 18 and 24 and are looking to apply for your first Texas driver’s license, then you must successfully complete adult driver education.
This course is the required total of 6 hours.
The Texas Department of Public safety requires you to present proof of successful completion of the driver education course. However, you must still take a driving skills examination test at the DPS. This is required for all drivers seeking a Texas license.
No. You will not need to complete a written test if you successfully complete our online driver education and submit proof of completion to the Texas Department of Public Safety.
Yes. Many insurance companies will provide a discount (usually between 1-10%) for three years on the liability portion of your auto insurance premiums if you provide proof of course completion. The amount (if any) of the discount, however, is strictly at the discretion of the insurance company.